Hutchinson Community College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC). 

The Higher Learning Commission was founded in 1895 as part of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (NCA). HLC is one of six regional institutional accreditors in the United States. The Commissions accredits, and thereby grants membership to educational institutions in the North Central region: Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, North Dakota, Nebraska, Ohio, Oklahoma, New Mexico, South Dakota, Wisconsin, West Virginia, and Wyoming. HLC is recognized by the US Department of Education and the Council on Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA).